HairSpray (2007)

August 4, 2007 at 9:44 pm (Entertainment, Movies, Reviews)

‘ A Musical film, adapted form the winning Broadway musical ‘HairSpray’ which is originally adapted from the comdey movie: Hairspary .

Time: 1962.

Location: Baltimore

We follow the cute, nice bubbly girl ‘Tracy Turnblad’ dream to be a dancer on local TV show and the obstacles she faces in a journey that didn’t only change her, her family but the entire neighborhood of Baltimore’

I didn’t expect a great movie. The fact that Travolta’s character is a woman didn’t help as well.

I admit… I was mistakenly wrong.. The movie dealt with a number of issues; Teenagers boredom and TV’s influence on their lives and accordingly, their future. Racial segregation was touched also, as black kids were not allowed to participate in ‘white’music shows on TV.

The highlight of this movie is the newcomer Nikki Blonsky who was given the heroine role (Tracy Turnblad); a normal teenager whose passion is to dance on her local-dance- TV show. She is talented with above average dancing skills that never fail to surprise her peers.

Nikki stole the show with her role. She wasn’t acting, she’s was Tracy. This role will open so many doors to her which is refreshing as I’m fed up with those skinny untalented so called ‘Starlets’. Hairspray isn’t a newcomer advneture, A-Listers were there and with there combined experince, the film possessed an unbeatable formula.

With so many characters, the director ‘Adam Shankman‘ managed to give satisfactory screen time to each of his actors without saturating us with usless scenes. John Travolta on the other hand didn’t impress me at all. He declined Richard Gere’s role in the classic musical Chicago, and he wasn’t happy when he missed a golden ticket to be in a successful movie after so many dissapointing movies. To clarify the issue, He’s no match to Gere’s; Physically and emotinly…he didn’t attempt any of the dancing routines which Gere amzingly made them his own.

Chicago which made waves when it was released more than 5 years ago opened the door to musical adaptations. It’s very early to pass a judgement on this new trend, as we don’t have enough musical movies to comment on. In hairspay, the soundtrack/songs were magically captivating. Loved them all, but on the other hand, the choreography wasn’t as impressive as I thought.

I couldn’t help but think about the way the Entertainment industry was advertised as the therapy to every social problem we face in our life (Hello, This Hollywood*__*). So many issues were tackeled but 2 hours are not enough to find a cure to racism, bullying and for social intelorance. I think I’m asking too much, It’s hollywood after all. Oh , did I mention that music can unite us?? ^_^

Follow your dream, Tracy… But, it is not reality

Favourite Quotes:

– Motormouth Maybelle: [watching Edna walk in] If we get any more white people in here, this is gonna be a suburb.

Edna Turnblad: Imagine! My little girl… regular, at last.

Edna Turnblad: [singing] You can’t stop my happiness, ‘cuz I like the way I am. And you just can’t stop my knife and fork when I see a Christmas ham! And if you don’t like the way I look, then I just don’t give a damn!

My Verdict: 7.5/10 …. Recommended .. A ‘feel good movie’ that didn’t fail to deliver.

4 Comments

  1. N said,

    the rainbow title makes me feel like it’s a gay movie
    it sounds fun anyway

  2. Hessa said,

    N:

    Welcome, I thought the same thing when it was released because of the Travolta, but I was surprised.. It’s very enjoyable and I had fun watching it. You are not going to be dissappointed ^_^… Thanks for passing by

  3. dalooom said,

    looks intresting .. shayef laq6at menah .. o shadni
    thx 🙂

  4. Hessa said,

    It’s very intersting … I didn’t expect it to turn like that !! I was Mouth-smacked.
    Thanks for commenting and for passing by

Leave a Reply

