50 First Dates (2004)

June 19, 2007 at 3:55 pm (Movies, Reviews)

‘Henry Roth (Sandler) is a veterinarian living in Hawaii who enjoys the company of vacationing women. He leaves the playboy life behind after he falls for Lucy (Barrymore), who suffers from short-term memory loss. Since she can never remember meeting him, Henry has to romance Lucy every single day and hope that she falls for him.’ Plot from: IMDB.comWhat did I expect from this movie? Nothing. I knew Adam’s usual movies are comedies with no plotlines. Although I respect Drew’s due to her versatile choices, not necessary, Oscar-Worthy but at least, I saw growth. I was not expecting anything extraordinary, but I was enjoying my time. The story itself was not strong and there were a few holes here and there. The cast seems to get along very well which is always a plus. Drew and Sandler were good pair not great but easy to watch (For the eyes and the brain). I’m not going to say much about the story but its Adam Sandler movie so you should anticipated what are you watching, as it’s not going to be Drama or action, It’s just pure comedy  …One advice: Don’t pay too much attention to the story line… I don’t remember anything of the soundtrack as it was not memorable.

In Summary, Don’t expect to see a masterpiece but it was such a fun movie to watch something that isn’t heavily handled and to forget about the hardships of reality where you can enjoy the corny happily ever after moments.  A nice movie, that would kill time and for group night out days.

My score: 5.5/10

5 Comments

  1. A Few Good Men (1992) « Chroma-Trauma said,

    […] 20th, 2007 at 12:49 am (Movies) After a nice quiet night where I watched a comdey (50 First Dates ), I decided to watch one of my all time […]

  2. لمياء الحالمة said,

    I saw this movie few months back, and I cried a lot, don’t know why 😦

  3. Angelo said,

    Adam Sandler is probably one of the worst and overrated actors of all time in my opinion. He certainly doesn’t shine in dramatic roles, yet they cast him for those roles such as Spanglish.

  4. sozu said,

    amot 3ala drew! wel movie a7iba wayd 5a9atan el soundtrack! hehe

  5. Hessa said,

    لمياء الحالمة :

    You cried,, Bless your heart, You’re so emotional then,

    Angelo:

    I agree with you, and he’s good at making fool of himself as well.

    Sozu:

    Lots of people love her. She had to go though alot, but she managed to pull her life togather.. I admired her for that. Will Lindsay Lohan learn from her? I hope so but I doubt that.

Leave a Reply

